SUMMER SALE x UP TO 30% OFF ON SELECTED ITMES SUMMER SALE x UP TO 30% OFF ON SELECTED ITMES
MOMENTUM
Momentum is inspired by the social isolation collectively faced during the COVID-19 quarantine. 

Our aim with this project is to express our own records - of the quarantine- through a performance, to collaborate with like minded artists from the community, and to create a piece that reflects both the personal and the collective experience of the last few months.

Together with Xenia Wiest, established Staatsballett Berlin & Hannover dancer and choreographer, and under the art direction of Idan Gilony, we discussed what we wanted the choreography to communicate - emotions of disruption, irreness underlined with a sense of hope to specifically highlight the paradoxes of the collective experiences. With these three main emotions as our guides, Marcel Fengler, IMF/Ostgut, created the exclusive sound for Momentum, depicting the different emotional cycles during the isolation period.

Our talented and professional Staatsballett Berlin dancers were a strong inspiration for the garment design. We wanted to create a unique, unisex piece that stands out in its simplicity and one that contrasts the sound and the movements in its softness.

Momentum is currently in post production and we are excited to release it at the end of the month. None of this could have been realized without our production team, our dancers and collaborators. A very warm and special thank you to Polyphony Studios for supporting us throughout the production and for providing us with the location. 

Momentum marks a first step to bigger plans for UY, watch this space for more information

Love,
UY Team x

Credit list
Choreography- Xenia Wiest @xenia_wiest_choreography
Sound Design- Marcel Fengler @marcel_fengler
Art Direction- Idan Gilony @idangilony
Videography & Editing- Shira Kela @shira_Kela
Light Design- Michal Andrysiak @andryiszku
Production & Costume Design- UY Studio @uy.studio
Production Manager- Salma ElShami @s_shamiii
Makeup & Hair- Roberta Deflorio @robertadefloriomakeupartist
Photography- Agustín Farias @agustinfar
Staatsballett Dancers- Lucio Vidal @lucioflight- Federico Spallitta @frido87- Weronika Frodyma @weronikafrodyma- Sarah Hochster @sarahhochster -Cecile Kaltenbach @cecilekalt- Marco Arena @marcoarena93 

Special thanks to Polyphony Studio @polyphony_studio

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment